Character: Jay Sinclair

Tonight, I’m going to blog about my favorite character from my novel (he’s not even the MC!), Jay Sinclair.

(The guy in the picture is Travis Fimmel, but he’s pretty close to what I want Jay to look like. Like… if you combined him with Bradley James from the BBC’s Merlin. Yeah. That’s Jay.)

Image

Unff! This guy. Amiright? He’s almost too pretty to be in my damn novel. I mean, I broke my “thou shalt not have ridiculously attractive characters” rule because he’s too perfect to not be attractive. I’m moving on now.

And man, I want to tell you everything about him but it would ruin the direction I’m taking the story to blurt out his plot twist. But let me assure you, dear readers, that it is pretty awesome. 

Jay is the southern gentleman in the group, and I’m doing my best to write a readable accent for him. I’m kind of struggling with the extended metaphors that I originally planned for him to use all the time, but the other side of that is that Jay isn’t as vocal as the other members of the group. Soft-spoken leader type. And he’s in love with Cecilia which is another kind of complicated plot thing that I’m still kind of working on. But he’s adorable. I didn’t mean to write him such a tragic backstory, but I did, and now I want to wrap him up in a blanket and give him a cup of hot sweet tea and apologize. But Jay’s tough, and he can handle it.

He grew up bouncing between Tennessee and Texas where he worked on his grandparents’ farm during the school year. He comes from a long line of academia and is a lot smarter than he appears at first. The way the farm works is this: His dad’s side of the family would work on the farm only after they’d finished their schooling (up to a PhD), and before high school the grandkids would learn from whichever grandparent (great-aunts and uncles included in this) was available to teach on the farm. They gained valuable knowledge through school work as well as physical labor.

Jay got sick when he was a senior in high school and went back to being home schooled. For the most part, he was able to attend classes at his parents’ University in Nashville. Even if he missed classes, he was more than able to keep up with the work. 

I’m getting way too close to revealing spoilers, but I feel like this is a good summary of Jay. I love him bunches. And I hope anyone who reads my novel will love him, too.

One thought on “Character: Jay Sinclair

  1. allybair says:

    Straight up, I’m already in love with him.

Leave a Reply

